::smoke gets in your eyes::


Today I woke up to an overcast and hazy yellow sky… making me quite nostalgic for my old hometown of Chiba, Japan.
It was not, however, due to the fact that I live amongst steel factories in the Northern hemisphere. Instead it was due to the fact that fires have been burning in Eastern Victoria for over a week now and the wind is bringing the smoke back to us once again. Apparently the haze that covered Melbourne last Saturday was, according to the EPA, Melbourne’s most polluted day in history. People were advised to stay inside and many asthma sufferers, mostly children, were overcome by the smoke that permeated everything.
This and the water restrictions now in force, which has me bucketing my ‘shower water’ onto our plants, is making for a rather inconvenient summer.
I had so looked forward to the following things when anticipating my return to Australia; clean air, clean water and a bright blue sky. (Sigh)

Leave a Reply

