::Sophie Lui Opening and a package on my doorstep::

Sophie Lui::

Last week I went to the opening of the first ever Sophie Lui boutique, 1256 High St, Armadale. By the time I got there the place with pumping, full of people milling around the floating racks of dresses and skirts. The designs are simple, geometrical, Asian influenced pieces and made primarily from black knit fabrics which has a flexible and flattering weave, they also have beautiful obi’s/belts of brightly patterned kimono fabric that add individuality to the piece. They are the perfect outfit to wear to work if you are going out for dinner or drinks that night but they are equally at home at a black tie event or the opera.

Here is some background on Sophie herself:
“Lui’s experiences have lead to a passion for the empowerment of women.
“I listen to what women want, what makes them feel good. I love it when my
customers are surprised by how beautiful they look.”
Sophie Lui’s eponymous label launched in November 2006 at the Crown Palladium
Ballroom in Melbourne.
The label is known for creating one-off pieces that become personal favourites,
all entirely designed and made in Melbourne.”

If you have time I encourage you to head on down to Armadale and have a look. Sophie and her partner Dale have experienced an intense few years getting their first business off the ground, I wish them the greatest success!

In other news, I returned home to find a package on my doorstep the other day…. and looky what was inside!

Fantasia Film Festival Goodies::

Fantasia Film Festival Goodies::

Fantasia goodies, two t-shirts, two programs, tickets, backstage passes, DVD’s of trailers, a ticket to opening night (if only I had had the dough to go?)… all covered with my illo and even in my fav colours (red and aqua!). I can’t wait to sit down and read the program… its full of some awesome, alternative flicks. How do you go on as an illustrator when you have already had your dream job?
Well, there is lots more happening and if my dwindling savings holds out there will be so much more to see!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. samanta says:

    i want those t shirts SO BAD.. 🙂
    it all looks amazing! congrats.

  2. innocentgirl says:

    Samanta – well, I’ll keep you posted, I am thinking about creating some for myself!

  3. Idetrorce says:

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  4. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    I’m Out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

